## BROOKLYN COLLEGE POLICY COUNCIL Minutes of the September 13, 2023 General Meeting 5:00pm, Gold Room, Student Center

**Present:** President Michelle J. Anderson, Provost April Bedford, Senior Vice President Alan Gilbert, Vice President Ronald Jackson, Vice President Todd Michael Galitz, Executive Legal Consul Sarah Luke, Dean Peter Tolias, Dean Qing Hu, Dean Stephanie Jensen-Moulton, Dean Philip Napoli, Associate Dean James Eaton, Professor Jillian Cavanaugh, Professor Douglas Cohen, Professor Joseph Entin, Professor Beth Evans, Professor Namulundah Florence, Professor Mona Hadler, Professor Mobina Hashmi, Professor James Lynch, Professor Tim Shortell, Professor Malka Simon, Professor Sophia Suarez, Professor Brian Sowers (Alt), Noam Abrahams (USG), Shannon Dyett (USG), Carrie Ebbin (USG), Cynithia George (USG), Royta Iftakher (USG), Dylan Karlowski (USG), Darla Moise (USG), Yisroel Shulman (USG), Ajadah Simms(USG), Milada Sirota (USG), Abby Melbye (GSO).

Absent: Dean Maria Scharron-del Rio.

Non-voting: Sadiya Hoque, Robert Echevarria, Professor Patricia Antoniello (Alt).

- 1. President Michelle J. Anderson called meeting to order at 5:01 p.m.
- 2. President Michelle J. Anderson welcomed the group and gave overview of meeting agenda.
- President Michelle J. Anderson confirmed Policy Council Executive Committee members, who were identified by each constituent groups: Senior Vice President Alan Gilbert, Professor Tim Shortell, Carrie Ebbin (USG).
- President Michelle J. Anderson addressed upcoming agenda items; facilities concerns, faculty and staff presence on campus, accommodations for Eid, email scams/improvement of ITS and classes held during common hours.

- 5. There was a go-around for introductions.
- The charge and composition of Standing Committees were reviewed; each constituent group caucused to recruit committee members to serve on the various Standing Committees.
- Yisroel Shulman (USG) noted updated Bylaws to include staff presence on Standing Committees.
- 8. Professor Mobina Hashmi advised staff should caucus in order to appoint staff members to serve on various Standing Committees.
- President Michelle J. Anderson suggested Presidential Advisory Committee on Staff (PACS) to designate staff members to Standing Committees - general agreement by acclamation.
- 10. Dylan Karlowski (USG) was elected unanimously to serve as Secretary.
- Professor Tim Shortell moved to approve April 26, 2023 minutes. Professor Jillian Cavanaugh seconded. Minutes passed by acclamation.
- 12. President Michelle J. Anderson confirmed meetings for Fall '23 and Spring '24.
- 13. President Michelle J. Anderson reminded all Standing Committees to meet prior to Policy Council.
- 14. Professor Mobina Hashmi noted previous minutes' point on academic freedom and work previously done by Tony Thomas. President Michelle J. Anderson advised Standing Committee on External Relations to review first.
- 15. Yisroel Shulman (USG) stated Policy Council website needed updated governance documents.
- 16. President Michelle J. Anderson adjourned the meeting at 5:56 p.m.

COMMITTEE	MEMBERS	<u>STUDENT</u>	ADMINISTRATION	<b>FACULTY</b>	<u>STAFF</u>	CHARGE
Executive	4	1 rep elected by the student constituency	President (chair) 1 rep elected by the administration constituency	1 rep elected by the faculty constituency		Shall act as a nominations committee and as a steering committee; prepare the agenda for Policy Council meetings; supervise the work of standing and ad hoc committees of Policy Council; and act for Policy Council in emergencies. Each academic year, the committee shall act as a nominations committee only after that year's election of members to the Executive Committee. In addition to recommendations from the Executive Committee for service on Policy Council committees, nominations from the floor shall always be appropriate.
Governance and Policy	7	2 reps the presidents of the student governments or their designees	2 reps named by the President	1 rep from Faculty Council Steering 1 rep from CAP Liaison Committee	1 гер	Shall serve as a screening committee for the Policy Council in matters involving governance and policy and shall make recommendations with respect to adjudication of conflicts or problems in the areas of governance and policy referred to the Policy Council. It shall serve as a supervisory body for the implementation of changes in governance.
Faculty/ Student Relations	8	3 reps the presidents of the student governments or their designees	1 rep appointed by the VP for Student Affairs to sit ex officio (chair)	3 reps	1 rep	Shall be charged with examining faculty-student relationships, including counseling, and with accepting related agenda items which may be proposed by any one of the constituencies. This committee shall meet as the need arises and report to council.
Fiscal, Infrastructure & Planning	10	3 reps presidents of the student governments or their designees	3 members: Senior VP for Finance & Administration AVP for Budget & Finance Associate Provost for Institutional Planning and Assessment	3 reps	1 гер	Shall advise on budgetary matters, the physical plant, and evaluation of current academic programs and structure of the College; and shall develop recommendations for Policy Council advisement to college bodies concerned with long range planning. The committee shall report to Policy Council periodically as the need arises.
External Relations	7	2 reps presidents of the student governments or their designees	President (chair) 1 other rep	2 reps	1 rep	Shall be charged with reviewing the working relationships of the college with all segments of the Brooklyn community and making suggestions for enhancing the image of the college within the borough. This committee shall meet as the need arises and report to council.

## Standing Committees of Policy Council: 2023-2024

<u>Committee</u>	<u>Student Members</u>	<u>Faculty Members</u>	<u>Staff Members</u>	<u>Administration Members</u>
Executive (3)	Carrie Ebbin	Tim Shortell	N/A	Alan Gilbert
Governance	Ajadah Simms	Namulundah Florence	Aharon Grama	Sarah Luke
and Policy (7)	Yisroel Shulman	James Lynch	(Sadiya Hoque alt)	April Bedford
Faculty/Student Relations (8)	Huda Ayaz Royta Iftakher Abby Melbye	Pat Antoniello Mona Hadler Jillian Cavanaugh	Ariel Maguire (Erin McLaughlin alt)	James Eaton
Fiscal, Infrastructure and Planning (10)	Carrie Ebbin Cynithia George Noam Abrahams	Mobina Hashmi Joseph Entin Dough Cohen	Mandisa Washington (Charles Carr alt)	Alan Gilbert Michael Lanza Philip Napoli
External Relations (7)	Dylan Karlowski	Beth Evans	Stalin Espinal	Michelle Anderson
	Milada Sirota	Malka Simon	(Tunji Fussel alt)	Todd Galitz

Term of Office: Student members – Fall 2023 – Spring 2024 Faculty members – Fall 2023 – Spring 2025

Revised 9/26/23