Adjunct professors Jesse Mills (violin) and Rieko Aizawa (piano) from Brooklyn College’s Conservatory of Music are members of the internationally recognized Horszowski Trio, which has made quite a splash in recent years through their incredible dynamic performances.

During this season, they will be ensemble-in-residence at the conservatory, where they will perform on November 28 in the Don Buchwald Theater in the Leonard & Claire Tow Center for the Performing Arts, as well as record new original works of conservatory composers and give a masterclass. In addition to Brooklyn College, they will be visiting Rice University, the University of Michigan, Temple University, East Carolina University, and Longy School of Music.

Individually, Mills recently received the Achievement Award from the Chamber Music Center of New York, presented by Fred Sherry (cellist/former Artistic director of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center) on April 23, 2023. During the 2022-23 season, he was invited to judge the concerto competitions at the New England Conservatory and the Mannes School of Music.

For Aizawa, during the 2022-23 season, she was invited to judge at the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition and the University of Michigan. She will also give a masterclass lecture with chamber music coaching at the Colburn School in Los Angeles in November 2023.

Some other Horszowski Trio notable news: 

  • In the 2022-23 season, the trio gave the world premiere of works composed for the Horszowski Trio written by Derek Bermel, Paul Chihara, David Fulmer, and Kenji Bunch;
  • The trio will give the world premiere of Stewart Goodyear’s work commissioned by the Gardner Museum in Boston on February 4, 2024;
  • In the 2022-23 season, they performed and gave a class at many schools including Yale School of Music (CT), Northwestern University (IL), Eastman School of Music (NY), Princeton University (NJ), Bard College (NY), University of Buffalo (NY), and Boise State University (ID);
  • In 2023, the “Horszowski Trio Prize” was created by the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition to award piano trio winners.